3DS Max hangs on loading mentalray.dlz- Solution for this problem


Problem

3DS max hangs,closes with or without giving any error when loading the plugin mentalray.dlz

Why it Happens.. ?

It happens because some firewall or spyware remover installed on your system block TCP port 7000 that is required by the mental ray to perform some system checks.

Solution

Disable any firewall or spyware remover permanently means it should not automatically start on system restart, you may have to change some setting in that software when you are done restart your system, then run 3DS max again… does it work….. sometime it works but not all the time like in my case.

Why it happens like that i really dont know may be some other software blocked the port ..so i did some research on that and then i installed a demo version of port explorer on my pc from

http://www.diamondcs.com.au/portexplorer

When i installed it and restarted my system, checked for port 7000 in the software it was open. So i run the 3DS max and  woooooooo it fixed my problem.

I really dont know if it would work or not after the demo version expires but hope it does until i enable firewall again.

I hope this solves your problem but if not then i really cant do anything you must contact Autodesk abt this specific issue.

I think (I believe it really only needs port 7000, and Max needs a few) should allow MR to use the internal ports to do control checking on the system. But what to do when no firewall is installed in the system and mental ray hangs like in my system. May be some other software like spyware remover close some ports. In such a case I installed the demo version of Port Explorer (http://www.diamondcs.com.au/portexplorer) in my system and without doing anything in the software my max loading with mental ray infact after the demo expires. Looks strange but works.

8 thoughts on “3DS Max hangs on loading mentalray.dlz- Solution for this problem”

  1. JUST ONE REQUEST….PLEASE MY BROTHER CAN YOU PROVIDE A SMALL EMGLISH TRANSLATION OF YOUR BEAUTIFUL PICTURES…AS ALL VIEWERS OF THIS BEAUTIFUL WORK ARE MUSLIMS,AND I BELIEVE IF MORE PEOPLE CAN READ SOME OF THE ARABIA THEN IT WILL SERVE AS A ENTRY POINT OF UNDERSTANDING IF GOD WILLS IT SO…..THANK YOU….

    MR.RAHICK….

  2. Hi there, for it doesn t work. When I instal port explorer next time system start up crashed.

    But, when I add 3Dmax in NOD32 as program that wouldnt be controled by NOD32 everything goes pretty well….

    So check out your antivir firewall enable 3Dmax aplication ….

    Sorry for my english….

    B.R.

  3. Hi there, for me it doesn t work. When I instal port explorer next time system crashed, stoped working during startup.

    I had to deinstal port explorer.

    but, when I add 3Dmax in NOD32 as program that wouldnt be controled by NOD32 everything goes pretty well….

    So check out your antivir firewall etc program enable 3Dmax aplication ….or disable checking…

    Sorry for my english….hope it would help somebody…:-)

    B.R.

  4. and if you use another render, just delete all the mentalray.dlz… that’s all i did, and it works fine. don’t lwaste your time and your memory to load something you’ll never use.

Leave a Reply

